Friary U16 Hurlers are County Schools' Champions

St. Augustine’s College: 2-17 De La Salle: 1-19

U 16 Squad

Victorious U16 Squad:Back row, from left: Jack Kiely(Abbeyside), William Beresford (Abbeyside), Mark McGarry,(Dungarvan), Michael Mullaney(Stradbally), Adam Carroll-Lawlor, (Abbeyside) Nicholas Hynes(Clashmore), Cian Gleeson(Ardmore), David Byrne (Abbeyside), Séamus O'Sullivan(Kilrossanty), Seán Óg Flynn (Abbeyside), Marc O' Mahoney (An Gaelteact), Brayden Dee Carter(Brickey Rangers),
Front row, from left:Charlie Treen (Abbeyside), Seanie Callaghan, (Abbeyside) Conor Kent(Abbeyside), Aidan Higgins( Abbeyside), Daragh Veale (Kilrossanty), Kaylem Hogan(Kilrossanty), Michael Coakley (Ardmore), John Gleeson (Ardmore),James Coffey Harty (Brickey Rangers), Rian Hayes (Kilrossanty), Brian Callaghan (Abbeyside)


Epic is the only word that could be used to describe what developed during the inaugural staging of this U16 Colleges' Hurling Championship final at Leamybrien last Friday. Both teams had made it through their sides of the Round Robin style build up during which De La Salle had handed down a 15 point defeat to this same Friary team so one would have being expecting a tame enough affair here with a comfortable win for De La Salle. However, the Friary boys had a different script in mind and from the off they played with a determination and ‘never say die’ attitude that was both refreshing and effective as they went in 1-7 to 0-7 up at the interval.
De La Salle as expected came firing back into the game in the second half and were unerring, particularly from placed balls, with their free taker ending normal time with a massive 0-9 from placed balls. However, the Friary boys wouldn’t lie down and some accurate free taking from Wille Beresford and Charlie Treen coupled with a lovely point from Braydon Dee Carter helped level things up at the end of normal time at 1-11 to 0-14.
Two five minute periods of additional time were then agreed by both teams and scores were hard to come by with a point from Seanie O Callaghan edging The Friary in front after the first five minute period only for De La Salle to come back with two points in the second period. However, it wasn’t to end here as Willie Beresford kept his cool and slotted over the equaliser from a free to bring it to more additional time.
Two more five minute periods were to be played. At this stage, everyone was getting tired and it was evident that no one wanted to lose this one. The Friary had a purple patch for the first five minute period here and went in after the first period 1-3 to 0-1 up. At this stage it was looking good for the Friary lads but they knew nothing was set in stone until that final whistle went. True to their form, De La Salle powered back into it in the final five minutes of additional time with two unanswered frees. Charlie Treen gave the Friary a lifeline with a well worked point but De La Salle then manufactured a great goal from a well taken sideline finished with a flick to the net. Nail biting stuff at the finish but eventually the referee blew that whistle and the Friary held out for a most deserved one point victory.
Michael Coakley was then presented with the Pat Collins Cup, a fitting cup in recognition of the immense work done at Colleges hurling level over the years by the great Pat Collins from Dungarvan CBS.
It was as sweet a victory that these guys will encounter and all those present at the match were treated to something special that will stay with them for many a year to come. To single out any player here that helped make this little piece of history for the Friary would not do justice to the massive team effort that brought this victory over the line.
The team on the day was: David Byrne ; Mark McGarry; Aidan Higgins; Sean Og Flynn ; Conor Kent; Mikey Mullaney; Daragh Veale; Seanie O Callaghan (0-4); Charlie Treen (0-6, 4 frees); Mark O Mahony; Wille Beresford (0-4, 2 frees); Brayden Dee Carter (0-2); Seamus O Sullivan; Seanie Lanigan (2-0); James Harty (0-1). Subs used: Cian Gleeson for Seamus O Sullivan(inj). Mentors Mr Alan Ryan and Mr Mark O'Brien.
Heartiest congratulations to the entire squad.


St. Augustine's College is located in Abbeyside, Dungarvan Co. Waterford, just 2.5km (5 mins by car) from Dungarvan Town Centre.

Covid-19 Guidelines

Advice and guidelines for the return to school during Covid-19 restrictions.


We offer a broad curriculum enabling students to reach their academic potential, develop life-long learning skills and achieve their goals in the ultimate Leaving Certificate Examinations.

Guidance and Counselling

In St. Augustine's College, We offer a comprehensive guidance service to students from 1st to 6th year.


We are now able to accept payments via credit card (Visa, Mastercard or Laser) for items such as exam fees and after school study.

Useful Links

Allows teachers to connect and collaborate with students, parents, and each other.

Teacher & Parent ePortal
A resource for teachers and parents.

The School App

Get all the latest school news and events direct your phone.

Get it on Google Play

Upcoming Events

No events

Privacy Statement

For information on how our website handles your privacy please read our Privacy Statement.
St. Augustine's College
Duckspool, Abbeyside, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford, Ireland.

Tel: 058 41140 / 48612 Email:

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.